The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There have been several theories about the issue of leadership and how a society can build great leaders. Some people believe that leaders are born and not made, while others believe that the core essence of leadership is the ability to acquire new skills and apply them. To understand this concept of leadership, and increase our knowledge on how to prepare the young for the tasks ahead, the prompt argues that the best way a society can prepare its young for leadership in various fields is by imbibing in them an act of cooperation, and not competition. I mostly agree with this claim for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that in some cases, a sense competition indeed makes a better leader.

To begin, leaders that operate through cooperation tends to achieve more than leaders that function through competitions and rivalries. An adage says that 'it is easy to break a single broomstick, whereas it will take a huge force to break a bunch of them'. This depicts the power that lies in cooperation among members of any group. A leader who ensures cooperation among his teammates or colleagues tends to foster creativity and productivity more than a leader that is more concerned about comparing the strenghts of different workers with one another. For instance, a leader of a finance industry that works solely on delegating different tasks to different members will have different people working on different things according to their area of specialization. This will enable the workers to be more effective in their respective niches without been in competition about how other people that might be doing better than them. As a result of such cooperative model, the company tends to achieve a better result compared to a company that promotes competition.

Secondly, a leader that triumph competition as opposed to cooperation tends to welcome an hostile environment, which might be detrimental to the organization. In most cases, competition, rivalry, and acrimony goes hand in hand. A leader that encourage, or employ competition in his methods will most likely promote lack of harmony and cause alienation amongst the workers. This estrangement might affect the productivity of such company, and might lead to much greater negative impact on the company. To ensure a much friendly work environment, it is advisable for leaders to instill the spirit of cooperation amongst the workers instead of promoting competition.

Admiteddly, there are situations that leaders to employ the method of competition while governing an organization. In extreme cases, whereby instances of low productivity, or increasing apathy of workers towards their tasks, a leader might encourage competitions amongst workers so as to increase productivity. For instance, a leader might organize competitions that will award the best performing worker, or the most diligent worker, or the most puntual worker in his department. This might encourage worker's enthusiasm towards their work, and might increase productivity and efficiency of the company.

To conclude, the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or any field is to teach them the act of cooperation, and how to lead by this act. Nevertheless, the society should not totally neglect the effectiveness of competition in leadership while raising these young leaders.