College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Nowadays, many people refrain from studying their desired course of study in school mainly because of apprehension that they may not get high-paying jobs after their study, or unable to secure any job at all. In light of this, the prompt argues that college students should base their choice of study on the availability of jobs in that field. I mostly disagree with this claim for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that in some cases, college students need to deeply consider what the future holds after the completion of their desired study in school.

To begin, the availability of jobs should not be the most important factor while considering a choice of study field because no one can accurately foresee what the future holds. It is possible to venture into a field of study where there is paucity of opportunities after graduation, but this does not guarantee failure for all graduands in that particular field. For instance, there have been many cases whereby students study course with low job prospects, say physics, and end up using the knowledge gained in school to startup an innovative business that changed the world. Joy Sticks is a typical example of this scenario. If he had refused to study computer science due to the scarcity of opportunities in that field at that time, he would probably have been a plant scientist, and by so doing, we would not be benefiting from any of the innovative opportunities he had created till date. In short, lack of jobs in a particular study field does not preclude students from venturing into that field of study since it is possible that they are the drive required to bring such field to a higher level.

Secondly, when students stopped enrolling for a particular course of study due to lack of available jobs, there is a high probability that such fields of study will go extinct, and this is not a good thing. Little job opportunity in a field does not necessarily imply that the field area is useless or unhelpful. If there are no new intake in a study field, when the currently employed people in that field retire, there will be no one to replace them, and this will lead to an increasing demand for skill sets pertaining to the study field. In essence, it is important that new students venture into existing fields so as to facilitate equilibrium of job cycle among the old and new member in a particular study niche. To buttress, focusing of study fields with high job prospects does not signal success. There are fields that have a lot of opportunities for students after graduation, but the opportunities are not very pleasant. Therefore, availability of job opportunity in a field does not signal success and this must not be used as a basis in considering which field of study college students should go for.

Admittedly, there are some instances whereby students do need to consider the pros and cons of venturing into a particular study field. This is imperative especially depending on the environment and the type of study. For instance, there are no facilities, and lecturers to teach aeronautics engineering in Nigeria, and likewise no job opportunities for such study field in Nigeria. In this case, it is wise for students to consider the job opportunity attached the studying aeronautics engineering in Nigeria.

In conclusion, college students should not base their choice of study in school only on the availability of jobs in that course. However, in some rare cases, they do need to weigh the pros and cons of studying a particular course in school.