Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's school children represent a new generation of potential customers: these school children are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that the next franchise of Nature’s Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health related-products, which will be opened in the town of Plainsville will prove to be successful. He reaches this conclusion based on the fact that Nature’s Way has been successful in areas where residents lead healthy lives such as Plainville. He also asserts that Plainville school children have been required to participate in a fitness-for-life program which will further boost the success of Nature’s way in the town. While the author’s conclusion might seem credible, however, he makes three unwarranted assumptions that if proven true, will significantly discredit his conclusion.

Firstly, the author assumes that Nature’s way will not face any competition in the town of Plainsville and the people of Plainsville like to shop within their vicinity. Perhaps there is an already existing store currently selling health food and other health-related products. In addition, it is also possible that the people of Plainsville prefer to travel to a neighboring town to get their health food and other health related products. If this proves true, then the author’s argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author assumes that the merchants’ report of an all-time high in the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing will simultaneously result in a high purchase of health food and health related products. It is possible that running shoes and exercise clothing have been greatly discounted and hence, the high rate of sales of such products. It is also possible that the people of Plainsville that like to exercise to not necessarily eat healthy food. If this proves true, the author’s argument will be undermined.

Finally, the author assumes that the school children of Plainsville who are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program will continue till adulthood. It is likely that the school children of Plainsville will go to college in places other than Plainsville and hence will not continue their fitness journey in the town of Plainsville where Nature’s way is located. It is also possible that when these children attain the age of adulthood, when they are no longer required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, they may decide to discontinue and no longer lead healthy lives. If this proves true, the validity of the author’s argument will be hindered.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in predicting that Nature’s way stores will be successful in the town of Plainsville. However, as it stands now, the prediction stands on three unwarranted assumptions that dramatically hinder its credibility. If the author would like to increase the persuasiveness of his argument, he needs to address the three assumptions that have been cited above.