Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A common saying in most parts of the world is that experience is the best teacher. This includes personal experience and the experience of others. The prompt argues that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. I mostly agree with this contention for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that in some cases, scandals are not necessary to focus our attention.

To begin, scandals are useful because they make societal problems more lucid than any speaker could make them. In the recent past, some scandals have rocked the world which showed how deleterious the decadence in our society can be. For example, the former President of the United States, Bill Clinton was caught having an affair with his secretary. This scandal caused many problems not just in his family but in the state of the country as a whole. It also ultimately led to him leaving after his first tenure and not running for a second tenure as was the norm. I do not think that any speaker would have been able to describe vividly the results of infidelity in marriage without a scandal of that magnitude.

Furthermore, scandals help to expose institutions that have previously been thought to be unimpeachable and also make people wary of such institutions. In the past years, it was discovered that there were cases of pedophilia in religious institutions and the leaders of such institutions tried to cover up the perpetrators of those acts. Without a scandal, such crimes would have remained hidden and there would have been more victims suffering in silence. Such scandals have taught people to be careful of religious institutions and not to leave their children and wards without supervision.

Some may argue that the consequences of some scandals might be too extreme. This is true as in some cases people involved in such scandals end up harming themselves. For example, the Lord Harcourt who the city of Port-Harcourt in Nigeria was named after killed himself when it was discovered that he had sexually assaulted some people in his home country of England.

In conclusion, scandals are useful in making our societal problem clearer and in teaching people to be more careful. However, the consequences of some scandals are deleterious and they should be handled properly to avoid adverse effects on the society.