A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Several hypotheses have been postulated by different academia on how a nation can improve the quality of education it gives to its citizens. Some people believe that students should be categorized from the onset into different educational categories based on their academic strengths, and others believe that all students should learn using the same curriculum until college. The prompt argues the latter, and I mostly agree for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that in some cases, the system should not employ the same curriculum for all students even before college.

To begin, all students should study using the same national curriculum until college because this act will foster equality amongst the students, and get them at the same level of preparedness before college. If all students use the same national curriculum for their studies, they will be exposed to the same ideas and be prepared for college uniformly. As such, in the future, there is less likely to be a situation whereby certain students struggle and others thrive because their curriculum is different. Also, using the same curriculum for all students is important because it will enable college teacher to have a uniform view of each student’s strengths and weaknesses without thinking about some other factors that might contribute to it. For instance, if all students use the same national curriculum, and some students perform better than the others, it will directly point us to the fact that these students have more educational capacity than the others.

In addition, nations should employ the same national curriculum for all its students before college because it will enable us to sufficiently look in each student’s strength and weaknesses, and analyze them in respect to other students. Using the same national curriculum establishes a common ground among every other student. This fact helps us to identify some key factors that might lead to a student’s academic performance. If students use different curriculum all around a nation, then it will be difficult to properly access the academic qualities of students while comparing to other students in the country. In essence, in order to have an unbiased educational system, employing the same curriculum throughout the nation will be advisable since it will allow us to have a holistic view of every student’s performance and prepare them equally for college.

Admittedly, there are some situations whereby using the same national curriculum would not lead to any advantage, or not even possible. For instance, there might be a country with sophisticated educational strength in some part of a country whereby other parts of the country do not have the necessary equipment or knowhow to maintain a good education for its student. It is very unlikely for this kind of country to employ the same curriculum for all its students nationwide, and even if they do, it might be of a trivial advantage to its course. Hence, employing the same national curriculum for all students before college is not always advantageous.

In conclusion, nations should employ the same national curriculum for all its students before college so as to encourage equality in the academic strengths of the students, and also have a better insight of the students’ strengths and weaknesses and prepare them equally for college. However, using the same national curriculum for all students is not always advantageous for all nations, especially nations that do not have equal strengths in educational abilities across the country.