We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to

The prompt argues that our most valuable lessons are learnt from struggling with our limitations than from enjoying our successes. I mostly agree with this for reasons which I will elucidate below. But I do concede that sometimes valuable lessons can be learnt from our successes.

To begin, valuable lessons learnt from struggling with limitations have benefitted the world in many ways. For example, the struggles faced by Dr. Ben Carson, a renowned neurosurgeon, which he described in his autobiography Gifted Hands, taught him valuable lessons which he was able to transcend and then went ahead to perform the first successful surgery on Siamese twins who were joined at the head. His struggles with being a minority from a disadvantaged background taught him that getting a good education would open the doors to a better life for him. While studying he faced discrimination from colleagues as well as patients which led him to strive to be the best in order to gain recognition and acceptance. His story has been a source of inspiration to many who are faced with similar limitations in life and has served as a motivation to transcend those limitations in order to excel.

Likewise, actor Robert Downey Jr. who was the son of renowned actor Robert Downey Sr. struggled with drug abuse, failed relationship, numerous altercations with law enforcement and even going bankrupt. These struggles severely hindered his career and a lot of people did not want to work with him. Yet, he was able to overcome these limitations to his success and went ahead to star in Marvel Studios Iron Man and Avengers which has been globally acclaimed. His case is an example that shows that in most cases, valuable lessons are not learnt from enjoying success.

However, in the case of Barrack Obama who also had some limitations in life, his most valuable lessons came from the successes his enjoyed as a lawyer, congressman and senator which ultimately led to him being the first black president of the United States. It is possible that if he had not learnt any valuable lessons from these successes he would not have appealed to the voters who ensured his election.

In conclusion, while our most valuable lessons are learnt from struggling with limitations, we can also learn from enjoying our successes.