The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the author concluded that keeping the Grove college as all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. He arrives at this conclusion using certain evidence such as the survey results carried out by the Grove college student government, the response from Grove college alumnae and other factors. The author’s premises, if true, might render the argument valid. However, there are three questions which the author left unanswered while making his claim, and this might hinder the credibility of the claim.

Firstly, are the eighty percent of the students that responded to the survey conducted by the student government significant? It is important to note that percentage values might not be absolute. For instance, it is possible that lower than one-fifth of the school’s students’ population actually responded to the survey, in which eighty-percent of them opposed coeducation. To elucidate, say the population of students in Groveton is 500, and only 90 of them responds to the survey in which eighty percent of the 90 respondents opposed coeducation. It might not be accurate to judge the opinion of the whole school population based on this number of students that answered the survey. If this scenario proves to be true, then the author’s claim does not hold water.

Secondly, is the survey scientifically and accurately carried out? To objectively access the claim of the author, we need to be certain that the survey is carried out in a scientific and reliable manner. For instance, it is possible that the members of the student government that carried out the survey are not experienced on how to deal with data collected. As such they might mismanage the data or analyze the results wrongly which might lead to results that are not accurate. It is also possible that the student government conducted the survey by probing wrong questions that seems ambiguous and confusing. In this case, the probing questions might utterly confuse the students filling the survey and might lead to them answering questions which they are not very sure about. If any of these cases proves true, then the results obtained from the survey might not be very reliable, and hence the author’s claim significantly weakened.

Finally, the exact number of the alumni that answered the survey is what percent of the total alumni in Grove college? It is imperative to determine the actual number of the alumni that answered the separate survey so as to know if the ‘half of the alumni who answered the separate survey’ stated in the author’s claim is representative of the whole alumni in Groveton. For instance, it might be that only 10 alumni out of 1000 alumni answered the survey, in which half of the 10 alumni disagreed with coeducation. If this scenario is true, then the author’s claim does not hold water.

In conclusion, the author’s claim that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially is plausible. However, the author needs to answer the three questions stated above in order to increase the credibility of his claim.