The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that teens who eat the most meals with their families were the least likely to engage in illicit use of drugs. He further states that family meals are associated with higher grades, better self-esteem and lower rates of depression. He reaches this conclusion from a recent survey of more than 5000 adolescents of which almost 30 percent stated that they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. While the author’s conclusion might be true, the evidences used to back up his conclusion seem spurious.

First, the author assumes that the family meal times are used to discuss the perils of illicit drug use. It is possible that most of the teens who participated in the survey attend schools where they are taught about different illegal drugs and the dangers associated with the use of such drugs. In addition, these adolescents could also be living in neighborhoods where they have witnessed the severe repercussions of using illegal drugs and this has served as a deterrent to them. If these scenarios are true, the author’s conclusion that adolescents who eat the most meals with their families is significantly diminished.

Secondly, the author assumes that the adolescents who participated in the survey were telling the truth. Perhaps these adolescents did not want to portray themselves in a bad manner and they gave information which they felt will be most pleasing to the interviewer. If this is true, it is likely that the adolescents lied about the number of meals they ate with their families as well as their school grades, self-esteem level, rates of depression and their use of illegal drugs. To increase the plausibility of his conclusion, the author needs to prove that the participants of the survey were honest in their responses.

Finally, the author assumes that the almost 30 percent of the adolescents who said that they ate at least seven weekly meals with their families can be used to conclude for the remaining population of adolescents. Out of the 5000 who were interviewed, 30 percent is not a very significant number and cannot be used to extrapolate for the remaining 70 percent. This in turn means that the 30 percent cannot be used as a determinant for the population of adolescents living in the town where the survey was conducted. To increase the credibility of his conclusion, the author needs to account for the remaining 70 percent of his respondents and also state whether they are a determinant of all the adolescents living in the town.

In conclusion, the author’s assertion that adolescents who ate the most meals with their families were the least likely to engage in social vices may be plausible. However, he needs to address the points cited above to increase the persuasiveness of his argument.