No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Advancement in a dire need in every field of study. For progress to occur, a myriad of factors ranging from a scientific or social research to the input of an unskilled worker, has to be considered. The prompt states that unrelated ideas and opinions are required for growth in a certain profession to be telling. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement and argue that knowledge and skills from other fields are necessary for expedition in a specific field of study for two reasons.

To begin, development in any discipline is ever shifting, and the requirement for progress keeps changing over decades or perhaps millennium . Thus, to keep up with these changes solely on the knowledge from a specific field of study is one that will likely boomerang. For instance, the need of a farmer after continuous cultivation of land for food, changes from crop production to replenishing lost soil nutrients. This now requires expertise in both agriculture(soil and plant science) and chemistry to produce fertilizers. The use of soil fertilizers regularly affect the natural biodiversity and gives off greenhouse gases - which is detrimental to earth at large. Now, agriculture does not require experience in farming and chemistry alone, but in sustainability to save the planet, in economics to make profit and distribute food to consumers, in geography to determine where and when to plant, in biology among others. Farmers who did not incorporate knowledge from other fields as agricultural needs were changing will certainly experience a decline in crop yields and business. This example illustrates that various knowledge and experience outside agriculture is required for agricultural advancement.

Furthermore, even if we assume that the needs are not dynamic, that it is as unchanging as gravity, one should still take into consideration that one particular invention is related purely to one field. In the case of the enhancement of computers from super(large) to mini(pocket) computers, principles of integrated circuits, data storage, heat transfer and electronic communication necessary for this improvement runs across different fields and correlated which each other to achieve this advancement. This could be the reason prominent scientists were experts in more that one field like Albert Einstein(Physics and Mathematics), Marie Curry(Chemistry and Physics) and Da Vinci(Engineering, Botany, Psychology, Painting, etc). Their inventions and theories could be as a result of incorporating two or more fields. Research has shown that companies who give room to outside ideas from their workers or even the public tend to thrive better in a stagnated economic situation engendering progress in other aspects of the economy.

Of course, some may argue

Finally, there’s a saying in my language which translates to: For the right hand to be cleaned properly, the left hand has to be involved in the cleaning process.