Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Many people describe the boon of a country or state by the way the major cities appear. Some might say that a greater outlook of these cities might result in an increased amount of investors. This outlook may include the way the roads are structured, the absence or potholes in these roads, their accessibility to markets and banks and many more. The prompt argues that Government must make sure that their major cities get the financial aid they need in other to succeed. I mostly agree with this prompt for two reasons. However, I do concede that in some cases, Government should not interfere with finances needed in a major city.

To begin, major cities outlook may lead to more development in those cities. For example, in Lagos State, Nigeria, the biggest city (Victoria Islands -a place largely known for its large number of companies) was not as industrious as it is now. The governor of Lagos state made sure that the city had good roads and electricity among many others. These factors made investors to feel safe in locating their headquarters at Victoria Islands and today this city is one of the most industrious cities in Nigeria. Had the governor not supplied the necessary money needed by this city, it may not have been able to thrive. This shows an important case where funding was helpful to the city and the government by attracting investors.

Furthermore, major cities require financial funding for them to thrive. For example, the congestion problem in Cairo, Egypt could be reduced by the installation and maintenance of traffic lights. These require a lot of money to maintain and once it is neglected for even a short time, the living situations in these cities may become unbearable and the cities might start to decline. In addition, major cities might mean more population which could mean more crimes. If the governor does not support the city financially in terms of paying the salaries of employed policemen, the city may decline in ways that could be negative for the Governor.

Admittedly, in some extreme cases, the Government should cede financing major cities and focus on minor cities. For example,in Capetown, South Africa -home to the the elites of South Africa-, residents of the area prefer to use their money to fund the development of roads, electricity, water and so on. In this case, the governor investing on these cities may be redundant because there are other cities that need these financial support like Cape Verde. A country cannot be made up of major cities alone, so if minor cities are declining as a result of excessive focus on major cities, it may be detrimental to the country or state as a whole.

In conclusion, it is true that the government must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need. However, in extreme cases, I do concede that they should not receive these funding.