The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In this argument, Dr Karp concluded that the interview-centred method which he and his team are using to understand the child-rearing tradition in the island of Tertia is more valid than Dr Field’s observation method. He arrived at this conclusion based on some pieces of evidence which if true, makes the argument effective. However, there are three unwarranted assumptions in the author’s argument which if not properly addressed, will impair the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that the children observed by Dr Field on the island of Tertia twenty years ago are the same as the children his team interviewed recently, but this may not be the case. It is possible that the children Dr Field observed twenty years ago on the Island of Tertia are now grown, and do not reside on the island anymore. For instance, Dr Karp may have observed children who indeed are reared by an entire village, but twenty years later, there exist a different set of children that are reared by their biological parents. Likewise, there may be frequent changes in the child-rearing tradition in the island of Tertia, whereby this year children are reared by the community, and the next year children are reared by the biological parent. With the wide gap between Dr Field’s observation and Dr Karp interview, the whole culture of the village may currently be in the phase of child-rearing by the biological parents. If this assumption proves true, it undermines the claim made by the author in the argument.

Furthermore, the author assumes that because the children interviewed were talking about their biological parents more than other adults in the village, it automatically means that the children were reared by their parents, whereas this might not be true. The children may be merely talking about their biological parent because they miss them, or because they just feel like, or just for any other reason without any strings being attached. If this is true, then the argument persuasiveness will be flawed.

Lastly, the author assumes that by interviewing the children, accurate information about the child-rearing tradition is guaranteed. While interviewing the children can provide some kind of information that will help to determine the child-rearing tradition, the information obtained is not necessarily reliable, or serve as factual data. It is possible that the children being interviewed are not being honest in their responses. For instance, the children might feel the questions are not that important, and thereby give random answers that are not true. Also, the children may not understand the questions, and just provide whatever information they see fit. If this is true, the author’s claim will be marred.

In conclusion, before the author's argument about having a more reliable method of understanding the child-rearing tradition on the island of Tertia can hold water, the assumptions stated above must be properly addressed.