Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that students at colleges and universities are more prone to cheating when there is an academic code which calls for them not to carry out malpractice than when there is none. The author comes to this conclusion by citing Groveton College who followed this policy and its number of students who cheated reduced. While this claim may seem to be true at first glance, his conclusion rest on three unwarranted assumptions that severely diminish its credibility.

Firstly, the author based his conclusion by citing the success of this policy at Groveton College. Perhaps this college is not sufficient for the survey. This school may be one out of several schools in which the policy works; it might not be enough to conclusively say Groveton college could be used as evidence. In addition, five years might not be a significant number of years to determine if a policy actually worked. Maybe the general standards for determining if a policy works could be a hundred years. If these claims are true, then the author’s conclusion holds no water.

Secondly, the author assumes that all the Groveton college number of cheaters are reported. Perhaps the students are not honest; the students may knowingly be be omitting the number of cheaters in examinations. These students could just be reporting a smaller amount not to arouse suspicion and maybe the number of cheater actually increased. In addition, the students might not be as diligent as their teachers when reporting an offence. They might consider some kinds of cheating as insignificant while their lecturers may not be so lenient. If these scenarios are true, then the author’s claim is severely diminished.

Thirdly, the author assumes without proper evidence that the policy actually worked because of the reduction in the amount of students. Maybe the students in Groveton college reduced in the following six years after the policy was put in place and perhaps decreasing the number of cheaters. The school might have 200 students and 30 miscreants and then it reduced to 25 and the number of cheaters reduced to 21.If these cases are true, then the author’s conclusion is severely weakened.

In conclusion, the author’s claim that academic honor codes can result in a reduction in the amount of cheating students may be true. However, as it stands now the author’s claim rest on some assumptions that severely diminish the credibility of his claim. To bolster his conclusion, he must address the three assumptions above.