College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In recent years, a lot of college students are flustered about the right decisions to make when choosing a career. A career choice could depend on some factors which could include the fondness for a particular career, the amount of salary that could be made from the job, the feasibility of getting jobs after study and so on. The prompt argues that college students should make career choices based on the amount of jobs present in the field. However, I mostly disagree with this for two main reasons. Nevertheless, I do concede that in some extreme cases, one should pick a career path according to the presence of jobs in those fields.

To begin, college students should pick their careers based on what they love because they might end up not liking what they eventually chose. For example, Doctor Maima Gunta, a doctor in Northern Nigeria, quit practicing medicine two years after he finished his course in the University of Lagos. Although he studied the course for seven years, he was not happy in the job and when he woke up to go to the hospital, he was depressed. Similarly, we have some Nigerian lecturers who are very sad because they chose a career were there was less people but ended up being sad in their jobs. People should pick careers based on what makes them happy. It is possible that if they pick what will not make them happy, they might end up quitting and they might regret the time wasted studying that course.

In addition, this factor used in determining their career choices might not be relevant when they are done with studying the course. For example, a lot students in Nigeria want to study some courses like Medicine, law and Engineering because they think it would have a lot of returns when they get a job, but this is not be true. The market for doctors has been saturated and many doctors who graduated recently find it very difficult to find jobs. These doctors end up going for jobs where the pay is significantly less than the average income because they know that they could be easily replaced. This is a case where one would not consider using the availability of a job opportunities in the present to determine ones career choice.

Admittedly, in extreme cases, students should make career choices based on the availability of jobs. For some people, the major aim in life is to make money. Some might say it is not prudent to invest in a career path that would not present people with great job opportunities. For example, if one were to study a course where a lot of highly skilled people are present and there is scarcity of jobs, he or she may not be able so secure a job when he is done. It is advisable in some cases to consider the availability of jobs when making a career choice.

In conclusion, it is not advisable to consider the presence of jobs when deliberating of a career path. However, in some cases, I do concede that it should be considered.