The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument, the council of Maple county concludes that there would be a discernible rise in the price of houses in its county if it adopts a policy of checking the supply of new buildings. They come to this conclusion by stating that this same policy was adopted in Pine County and it resulted in a surge in the price of the houses. While this may be true, the author’s claim rests on the following three unwarranted assumptions.

Could the trend in Pine county be an indication of what would happen to Maple County? Perhaps the population of these two counties differ significantly. The people in Pine County may have a small amount of people and in contrast, Maple county might have a smaller number. In this case it may not be cogent to compare what happens in one county to another. Furthermore, the surge in the cost of houses in Pine County might be an anomaly. It may not be an indication of future increases; there may be ephemeral factors that is making these houses exorbitant. One of these factors could be an increase in the amount of cement probably due to an increase in the price of transporting the cement. This could have caused an upsurge in the price houses in Pine county. If these scenarios are true, then the author’s conclusion is severely weakened.

Did the rise in price occur due to a reduction in the number of houses? It is possible that these houses became expensive because of other factors. Perhaps the price of these houses includes a fee for security which may not be included in the prices of houses generally. This could account for the higher price of houses because something else was added to the price. In addition, the cost of these houses may have increased because of the greed of the real tors who sell the home. These real tors may be taking an extraordinary amount of tax from houses they sell. The people buying this homes may now have to pay more because of tyhe avaricious nature of these real tors. This could account for the higher price in Pine county. If these cases are true, then the author’s claim holds no water.

Is the doubling of the price of houses in Pine county significant? It is possible that the price of houses in Pine county before it doubled might not be significant. It is possible that these houses increased to an amount below what home which are similar to it are being sold. It could increase from ten thousand to twenty thousand dollars, but similar homes worth the same price could be worth seven hundred thousand dollars. If these houses were to increase by ten thousand dollars, it may not be significant. A hundred percent increase from a small number is not equal to a doubling of a larger number. If these cases are true, then the price increase might not be significant hereby diminishing the validity of the author’s claim

In conclusion, it may be true than a reduction in the amount of homes built in maple county will result in a surge in the price of houses. However, as it stands now, the author’s argument stands on three assumptions that severely weaken its credibility. To bolster the validity of his claim, he must answer the three questions above.