the following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years.

Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In in argument, the director of the student housing at Buckingham College recommends that new housing should be built to accommodate the predicted increase in the number of students. He comes to his conclusion based on recent trends in the growth of the number of students in Buckingham College. While this claim may be true, the author’s conclusion rest on three unwarranted assumptions that diminish the credibility of his recommendation.

Firstly, the director of the student housing at Buckingham College assumes that the current trends is an indicative of what will happen in the future. Perhaps this surge in the number of students might be because of the current expensive advert that the school is doing which it might not be able to sustain for a long time. In addition, the number of students might have reached its zenith and building more dormitories might be a waste of money. If these scenarios are true, then the author’s assumption that the the number of students might increase holds no water.

Secondly, the author assumes that the student of Buckingham College would prefer staying in the school if there is a space for them there. Perhaps most students prefer the degree of freedom that Buckingham College does not provide. The rules at Buckingham College might be really strict and might not allow some things students may relish which may include parties. In addition, the school dormitories might not have security and maybe the students prefer a safer place which off-campus housing can provide them. If these cases are true, then the authors assumption that students would live in the dormitories is diminished

Thirdly, the author assumes that attractive dormitories would make students want to go to Buckingham College, but this might be false. Perhaps the availability of dormitories is an after thought of students and they might prefer a university which has a strong library which Buckingham College might not have. Furthermore, the prospective students might find attractive dormitories redundant. They might assume that the money spent on beautifying the place could have been spent on something else. This may cause the students to regard Buckingham College as a school that does know how to spend money well. If these scenarios are true, then the author’s conclusion is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in recommending an increase in the number of housing for predicted prospective students. However, as it stands now, the director’s claim rests on three assumptions that weaken the validity of his claim. If the author would like to increase his persuasiveness, he must answer the following three questions above