Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

History has recorded a considerable amount of animal and plant species extinction which resulted from either human activities or other factors that are beyond human control. In a bid to properly addressing the issue of species extinction, the prompt argues that the society should only try to save endangered species if the probable extinction of these species is as a result of human activities. I mostly agree with the stance for two main reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that in some cases, it is advisable and relatively straightforward for the society to thwart the potential extinction of certain species even if it does not result from human’s activities.

To begin, Society should try to save species extinction only if their activities are prone to lead to such degradation of species because the society can only control what is within their capacity. For instance, as in the case of dinosaurs’ extinction in the late 1700s, there would be very little humans can do to prevent such species extinction. Some records show that the extinction happened due to the unfavorable climate and harsh conditions to the animal species, while other results include some other things that might have led to the extinction of the dinosaur species. Many of these factors are not easily regulated by humans, if at all they can control it. In summary, society should not even try to save species extinction that happened out of their control because it is very likely that what is causing the extinction is out of their control and cannot be easily prevented. Efforts will only be wasted by trying to curtail the norms.

In addition, Society should now attempt to save species extinction only when the probable extinction results from human actions because past attempts to save species extinction not engendered by humans have been futile. Over the years, scientists have made efforts to address the issue of species extinction occurring outside the walls of human control. Majority of the strategies employed have deemed inefficacy. For instance, a high number of research have looked into what might have led to the extinction of pinnocio, and researchers have little luck understanding how to preclude this decimation from happening in other types of species. Instead of lavishing efforts on researches that yield nothing positive, it is advisable to allocate resources to study the species extinction that might happen through human interactions, and try to prevent such extinctions as it is in the control of the humans.

Admittedly, there are some cases whereby possibly species extinction does not arise from humans, yet, factors that might be leading to such extinction are very straightforward to decipher and control by the society. In this case, it is highly advisable for the society to address the issue since they have a good understanding of how to stop such extinction from happening.

In conclusion, society should mostly try to save the extinction of species only if the extinction will result from their activities, however, in some cases when the other factors leading to species extinction are not human-caused but obvious and controllable, society should try to save such extinction from happening.