Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that woven baskets which were characterized by a particular distinctive pattern and was previously believed to have been made only by the Palean people is not uniquely Palean. He cites as evidence, the lack of Palean boats in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea, where archaeologists have discovered a basket similar to the type woven in Palea. While the author’s conclusion might be valid, he needs to provide further evidence to bolster the credibility of his argument.

To begin, the author needs to verify if there are natives of Palea living in Lithos. Perhaps there are Palean people who have left their hometown and now reside in Lithos. They may have taken up the weaving of this baskets as their craft and means of survival in Lithos. In addition, they may have also taught the people of Lithos who were interested in the craft how to weave the baskets. This could explain the discovery of the Palean baskets in Lithos. For the author to prove that these baskets are not uniquely Palean, he needs provide evidence that the indigenous people of Palea never resided in Lithos or practiced their craft.

Furthermore, the author needs to provide evidence that Palean boats were the only mean of conveying these Palean baskets to Lithos. It is possible that there may have been traders from Lithos who visited Palea in the past and bought these baskets which they in turn took back to their hometown and sold for profit. It is also likely that merchants from places other than Lithos or Palea may have bought these baskets from Palea and sold them in Lithos. There may have also been a bridge across the Brim River which the citizens of Palea may have crossed on foot or by horseback to deliver their goods to Lithos. To increase the validity of his argument, the author needs to prove that Palean boats were the only means of transporting these baskets to Lithos.

In conclusion, the author’s argument that the woven baskets previously thought to be Palean are not uniquely Palean may be valid. However, as it stands now, it lacks sufficient evidence to bolster its credibility. To increase the persuasiveness of his argument, the author needs to providence evidence for the points cited above.