Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The prompt argues that governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support that they need in order to thrive because it is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated. However, I mostly disagree with this position for two reasons which I will elucidate below. Nevertheless, I do concede that some form of funding should be made available to major cities.

To begin, most major cities are commercial centers filled with people of different cultures that come to seek greener pastures and hence, the traditions of a place cannot be generated nor preserved in the cities but in rural areas. For example, Lagos, the commercial capital of Nigeria is a land of opportunities where people from different parts of the country come to search for jobs and to start up businesses. Lagos also houses the only sea port that where every import from outside of Nigeria is cleared before being transported to other parts of the country. In the same vein, Lagos is home to the busiest international airport in Nigeria where most of the international airlines that convey passengers to and from Nigeria is located. With the continuous influx of people to Lagos, there is hardly an space left for generation and preservation of tradition as most the state’s landmass has been taken up for commercial activities. The nearby Ogun state is a better suited to generate and preserve traditions than Lagos state as it is already home to some cultural monuments such as the Olumo Rock and Ifa shrine and financial support from the government is more expedient in such areas.

Moreover, most major cities are able to generate income through various means and may not need financial support from the government. Still citing Lagos Nigeria as an example, every business must pay tax to the state which generates a huge amount of income. Also, for every import into the country, a custom duty is charged. Likewise at the Lekki toll gate, a toll fee is paid by every vehicle that utilizes the toll gate for the number of times the vehicle uses the toll gate per day. All these generate a substantial amount of income for the state and they may not require financial support from the government.

However, in Abuja the capital city of Nigeria, a cultural artifact, Zuma Rock is located. Due to its location in the capital city of the country where most tourists will love to visit, it is important that the government provides financial support to preserve the cultural tradition in order to attract more visitors to the site. This will ultimately generate income for the government as well.

In conclusion, most major cities are commercial centers that can generate income for themselves and do not serve to generate or preserve cultural traditions of a nation. However, in some cases, major cities can generate and preserve the cultural traditions of a nation and should be funded by the government.