Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Over the years, there have been several contentions on why major cities generally receive the most attention from the governments compared to the other remote locations in the country. Some studies have attributed this seemingly unfair attention to be as a result of the greater number of human populations that reside in the cities. For us to gain a more knowledgeable incite on government’s interaction and attention to its cities, the prompt argues that government must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they require in order to thrive. I mostly agree with this argument for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that, a certain number of financial resources should also be allocated to improving other parts of the country besides the major cities.

To begin, the prompt posited that a nations’ cultural traditions are usually generated and well preserved primarily in the cities, and I agree with this fact because the major cities are representative of the whole country. It is quite a fact that a significantly higher number of a country’s population reside in the city compared to other remote locations in the country. This high figure makes it convenient to aver that the majority of a country’s cultural tradition are being uphold among the major city residents. In other words, it is the people that live in major cities that actually boost and propel the culture of a country, and showcase it to the outside word. Therefore, the governments’ failure to allocate the right financial resources to support the major cities might engender a deterioration of the country as a whole, a situation which is not very palatable.

Secondly, it is important for governments to ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive because the major cities are the image that represents the whole country. When visitors from another country pays a visit to a particular country, they will most likely visit the cities, or pass through the major cities in the country. If the cities are not well developed, it will be like a stain in the country’s image, and this might affect the country’s world-view image. In order to boost relationships with other countries, enhance economy or business relationships with other countries, the country’s major cities have to be well developed since it will most likely be the welcoming home for prominent visitors from other countries. For instance, when Bill Gates came to Nigeria, he only to Lagos before returning. Had it been that Lagos is not in a very good shape, it would have precluded the arrival of Bill Gates, which might have a negative impact on the Nigeria economy. Therefore, it is quite advisable that governments pay much attention to the development of its major cities.

Admittedly, governments should not totally neglect the other parts of the country. They should in fact supply enough help to upgrade every location in the country as it will altogether bring about a positive result on the country.

In conclusion, I believe governments should focus on appropriating more financial resources to the major cities in a country while also paying attention to other non-major cities in the country.