The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries recommends a policy that monitors the amount of internet used by Clipson’s employees because it would reduce the amount of time that workers waste that could be used for other things. He also recommends that censuring the workers who use lot of internet for personal or recreational activities would result in better work ethics. While these claims may be true, his conclusions rest on the following three unwarranted assumptions that severely diminish its validity.

Firstly, the author assumes that the use of internet is detrimental to work. Perhaps the use of internet may serve as an aid to work. It is possible that people who work too much may want to use some time to rest off. A continuous amount of work time without rest (which includes using the internet), might hinder, instead of help workers to be more effective. In addition, these workers might work more effectively when they are relaxed than when they are not and perhaps the use of internet keeps them in a calm state. If these scenarios are true, then the author’s claim holds no water.

Secondly, the author assumes the games played by these employees require the use of internet. Perhaps these games do not require internet, so installing a software that monitors the internet usage might not be redundant. In addition, the websites used for shopping by these workers may not be discernible by the software that the author recommends to be installed. If these cases are true, then the author’s argument is severely weakened.

Thirdly, the author assumes that the software would preclude the employees from wasting time therefore resulting in better work ethics, but this may not be true. It is possible that when these employees stop using the internet, they might find other ways to entertain themselves which may include talking so much and disregarding customers. Furthermore, these workers may be more irritable to customers because they are not using the internet. If these cases prove true, then the author’s claim that the software would result in better work ethics is significantly diminished.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in recommending that punishing people who violate the policy of using a lot of internet would cause good work ethics from the employees. However, as it stands now, the author’s argument rest on three assumptions that weaken its validity. To bolster the credibility of his argument, he must address the three assumptions above.