People should undertake risky actions only after they have carefully considered its consequences

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Risk is an important part of our everyday lives, and because of this, many definitions have been attributed to risk over the years. Some people believe that sleeping at night and waking up in the morning is a risk, while others believe that somethings people call risks are actually constants. To determine what risks really are, and how to deal with them, the prompt argues that risks are to be undertaken only when we have analyzed and considered the consequences. I mostly agree with the prompt for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that there are some actions or conditions which are inherently risky, in which their consequences cannot be foreknown or prevented.

To begin, people should undertake risky actions only after considering the consequences because it will give them power to weigh the risks and the reward of the actions beforehand. For instance, an investor taking on a business that involves a considerable amount of money without considering the risks involved will not be aware of the possible reward in respect to the possible gain involved in such transaction. The investor might be unaware of the money he is bound to gain and risk in the process of the business transaction. However, an investor with well-laid out plan, who have calculated the worst-case scenario and best-case scenario of a particular business transaction will be able to make a more informed decision while taking on a business. In essence, a person that takes uncalculated risks might be at peril of gaining little reward and facing more risks than a person that has calculated both the possible risks and reward involved in a particular course of action.

Secondly, calculating risks before undertaking an action might help to prevent or lower the actual risk. For instance, a person might be interested in taking on a particular action before, but after carefully analyzing the individual risks involved in such action, he might refuse to continue with that activity. If he had refused to weigh the consequences of his activities beforehand, he might have been exposed to a huge loss or disaster. Calculating consequences ahead will help to make informed decisions on which activities to go for and which ones to avoid. Alternatively, knowing the risks ahead can help people direct their attentions to things they need to be wary about, which might actually help them to forestall some of the adverse effects they are already expecting from their actions.

In conclusion, risks are worth carrying out only if they are calculated. In this case, the worst case that might result from an action would already have been measured, and this will leave no room for any insurmountable calamity.

Admittedly, there are some actions which involves risks that cannot be known, prevented or even calculated. For instance, one cannot calculate the risk of not giving birth to a male child after wedding, not to talk of preventing it. In situations whereby risks cannot be prevented or calculated, it is advisable not to disincline in carrying out any of such activities.