Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

In the world today, a significant amount of species are going into extinction which could be caused by a number of factors (climatic changes, human intervention, etc.). Some people would say extinction is a natural process of life because dinosaurs were at a time, present, and the Earth is in a dynamic state. Then comes the question, Should people try to save endangered species? The prompt argues that people should only try to save these animals if they are the cause of its extinction. I mostly agree with this. However in some extreme cases, I do believe that society should make efforts to help endangered species when they resulted in it.

To begin, nature has significantly had a power over all living things in the earth from animals to plants to bacteria. Nature sometimes require some animals to go extinct for another animal to serve a greater purpose for the earth. Perhaps in a scenario where the occurrence of an animal precludes another and this animal is useful to regulate some properties which may be important for the growth of other animals. There could perhaps be a reason why animals have lower number as the food chain increases. For example, a lot of eagles are going extinct; maybe nature doctored it this way because some of the birds that they prey on help to disperse the seeds of some trees. In this case, it would be better not to interfere with nature. If one were to interfere with this, it could harm Earth in unforeseen ways.

Furthermore, in Earth, there is a progression; Earth has been undergoing changes. From the big bang, a lot of animals and plants have lived and died and thier species have gone extinct and many more species would evolve. The human element could be nature’s design for species to undergo change. There is a possibility that if dinosaurs did not die, human beings may not have evolved. Nature requires species to go extinct because the earth is dynamic and there is no constancy. It is possible that humans intervening in helping species may not be helpful at all; it may even be detrimental. Therefore one could argue that humans should not be concerned about altering nature.

Admittedly, in extreme cases, humans should intervene in helping species when they resulted in it. For example, animals like the elephants are dying because of hunting for their tusk. The people of South Africa hunt elephants for their greed. In this case, it may be possible that humans are causing the extinction in a way Nature does not intend and if laws are not placed checking the hunting of these animals, then their numbers would continue to decline. This could be an instance where one could argue that human beings should put efforts in reducing the decline in population of other species.

In conclusion, humans should not save endangered species in which they caused the extinction. However in some cases, I do concede that they should.