Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

For decades,a lot of people have been interested in scandals. Most people are interested in what arouses that emotions and hereby more knowing of it. The prompt argues that scandals are important because they help in focusing our attention in ways that cannot be reached by speakers or reformers.People could know about scandals in forms, which may include witnessing it or being told about it. I mostly disagree with this prompt. However, I do concede that in some cases, these scandals would reach heights that speakers would not reach.

To begin, speakers and reformers help focus our attention better because they can help analyze cases which at first glance might not be fully understandable. For example, preachers of the bible can explain most of what is contained in the bible than people who read about what happened in the bible. A number of preachers study the bible very well and look at it from all directions in ways that scandals could not reach. Similarly, the case of oil well explosion that happened in the Republic of Nigeria in 1976 did not get as much attention until a writer in Ninety-Nine FM (a popular radio station) took it on herself to analyze and speak analyzed what could have stopped the explosion and how the Nigerian Government was negligent in carrying out their responsibilities. Without these speakers, one might not have fully grasped or understand the significance of most things.

Furthermore, some reformers happen to do things which brings our attention on things. For example, a traditional view for dressing in Nigeria after they were colonized in 1960 was wearing “white” wears (this means a shirt, trousers and a tie) from Monday to Friday. This conventional view was carried on until 1984 when Gustavo Uyalor asked his company members to start wearing traditional attires to work on Fridays. This trailblazer gathered a lot of attention and it significantly led most Nigerian companies to start wearing traditional attires to work. In this case a reformer influenced people more than a scandal could have

Admittedly, in some cases, scandals could focus our attention on some matters. For example, on the 20th of october 2020, the presdient of Nigeria ordered for the killing of its youths who were staging a non-violent protest. Most people have always had it in mind that some politicians do not care about them but the scandal that happened on this day helped them focus on the problem and how to fix it. It is not a new case where a speaker woukd talk about the disregard of the people of Nigeria by the Federal Government but it was until this case that Nigeria citizens fully focused their attention. In a case like this, scandals helps reach heights that can not be attained by speakers or reformers

In conclusion, scandals may not focus our attention in ways that reformers do. However in some cases, I o concede that they do.