The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are avavilable. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising"

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument, the author concludes that Super Screen Moie Production Company should attribute a larger percent of its budget next year to reaching the masses through advertising of Super Screen quality movies. The author arrives at this conclusion based on evidence such as the percentage increase in the number of positive review received on Super Screen movies, and the number of people that attended the movies during the past year. The evidence cited, if true, might give credibility to the claim. However, there are three questions which the author needs to answer in order to increase the persuasiveness of his claim.

Firstly, is it certain that the people do not already know about the Super Screen movies? It is possible that the majority of the people already know about the Super Screen movies and might not just be interested. Super Screen movies might be well known, but people might not find the movie appealing enough to watch due to reasons best known to them. Also, it might be that the people in that environment do not watch movies at all, and no matter how frequent movies are being advertised, they might rarely get themselves galvanized into watching the movies. If the author's answer to the question is not affirmative, then allocating more finance to advertise the Super Screen movie might not necessarily lead to increasing awareness of Super Screen movies, nor in the number of viewers.

Secondly, does the incident that occured in that past year indicate an assurance of a similar future trend? The author stated the fewer population that attended the Super Screen- produced movies as evidence to bolster his claim, however, we cannot say for sure if last year is not just an anomaly. It might be that the fewer people that attended the Super Screen-produced movies last year resulted due to the low population of people in the environmement during that year, which might be due to people travelling out of town or for other reasons. The next years might have more people in the environment, and might preclude the need to advertise the Super Screen movies since people might already be aware, but not just around. Will fewer people always attend the Super Screen Movie? To enhance the cogency of his claim, the author needs to address this question

Finally, what is the actual increase in the positive review by the movie reviewer? The author cited an increase in the percentage of the positive reviews by movie reviewers without mentioning the actual number of reviewers. It is possible that the number of reviewers are minute, and that the percentage increase in the number of positive reviewers are very little to the extent that it might be regarded as inconsequential. For instance, suppose there are only 4 people that gave a positive review last time, and not there are 6 people that gave a positive review. That looks like a significant percent increase, but in reality such number might not be reliable to make a conclusion on how the Super Screen Movies are actually doing.

In conclusion, the author's argument that Super Screen movies should increase their advertisement budget so as to reach the public is plausible. However, as it stands now, the author needs to provide answers to the three questions posed above in order to increase the persuasiveness of his claim.