Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Groveton College has adopted the academic honor codes where students agree not to cheat and has discontinued the traditional method of closely monitoring students. The prompt states that the reported cases of cheating has reduced with the adoption of the academic honor code system. It also reports that from a recent survey of the students of Groveton, most students said that they are less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. While this assertion might be true, it rests on three assumptions for which it provides no clear evidence.

First, the prompt assumes that students will report all cases of cheating. In a class of students of whom many might be friends, students may not want to report their friends even if they have clear evidence of cheating. In most cases, cheating come with a severe punishment and many students many students may not want to be the cause of a disciplinary action on another. It is also possible that students could face bullying for reporting those who cheated in a test and so may turn a blind eye when their peers cheat in exams. If this is true, then the explanation of the prompt is not very plausible.

Secondly, the prompt assumes that the population of Groveton College has remained the same over the past five years. It is possible that the population of the college has reduced significantly over the past five years and with a reduction in population, decrease in the occasions of cheating is likely. This in turn, may lead to a decrease in the number of reported cases of cheating. If this is true, then assertion of the prompt becomes less plausible.

Finally, the prompt assumes that in the survey, the students who said that they were less likely to cheat with an honor code in place were telling the truth. Perhaps they responded in that manner to influence the school management to leave them unsupervised. If this is true, then they are also less likely to report cases of cheating and the explanation of the prompt loses credibility.

In conclusion, while the assertion of the prompt that the adoption of an honor code results in less cheating and reported cases of cheating might be plausible, its author needs to address the assumptions cited above to increase its validity.