The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that there is a relationship between families eating together and a restraint in teenagers displaying appropriate behavior (these behaviors include using drugs, tobacco and alcohol). He also concludes that there is a relationship between teenagers who have family meals and better grades. He comes to this conclusion by citing the recent survey done on more than five thousand adolescents. While his claim might be true, the author’s conclusions rest on three assumptions that significantly weaken the credibility of his argument.

Firstly, the author assumes without evidence that the recent survey was carried out scientifically. Perhaps the people who may have done this survey were not trained enough for it and even if they did the best they could, it just was not enough. The study done was ambiguous. The author mentions that it was above 5000 people but that could mean 5001 or 10,000 people. The conventional number of people needed in a survey carried out properly could be 15,000. If these cases are true , then the author’s claim holds no water.

Secondly, the author assumes without giving any evidence that there is a causal relationship between people eating meals together and lower rates of depression. Maybe these people have lower rates of depression because the families who eat together carry out some activities like yoga. This particular activity may be the cause of a reduction in depression in the teenagers. Similarly, these families could love going on trips together which may result in lower depression rates among them. So it it possible that eating together and depression may not be correlated. If these scenarios are true, then the author’s conclusion is severely diminished.

Thirdly, the author assumes that when teenagers say something, they actually mean it. It could be that these teenagers are saying these things because they have been urged to do so. They might also say these things because they do not want to bring disgrace to their families. Perhaps some of these teenagers were adopted and if they say that they do not eat up to seven meals with their families, it could call the attention of child protective services which the parents might not love. If these scenarios are true, then the author’s conclusion is severely weakened.

In conclusion, it may be true that there is a causal relationship between families eating together and teenagers behaving seemingly. However, as it stands now, the author’s claims rest on three unwarranted assumptions that weaken its credibility.To bolster the validity of his conclusion, he must address the three assumptions above.