Teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance

They say, “The teachers’ reward is in heaven” because man cannot measure the impact of teachers in the society. A teacher plays a vital role in the up-bringing of children from the kindergarten to high school even to graduate school. Aside being the medium of transfer of knowledge on different subjects, they also are friends, role models, counsellors, etc to students. Therefore, the idea to base their ‘reward’ on students’ performance is preposterous and should be vitiated.

Academic performance is relatively based on the student’s ability. In the school system, there are levels of education ranging from crèche to graduate school. The performance of a toddler may be graded based on his or her ability to colour to sky blue while it differs for a high school student. Meanwhile, in each of these classes, there are average students, the special-needs students, and the physically challenged students. To measure a teacher’s salary here maybe difficult or even impossible as there are a myriad of factors to consider. If this claim is effective, a new teacher may be discouraged as he/she would obviously receive a low salary for the first few months until both the students and teacher are well adjusted.

Beyond the difficulty to determine the salaries of teachers is the possibility to use dubious means to improve student performance in order to qualify for a ‘fat’ salary. Encouraging students to cheat in assignment and during exams or changing the activities in the curriculum to a less challenging one since salaries are directly proportional to academic performance. Teaching would no longer be an honourable job rather a means to make fast money resulting in a poor quality of education.

In contrast, more teachers would be encouraged to research and receive trainings on the most effective means of teaching if their income is based on the student’s improvement. Furthermore, it could be a fair means of payment where every teacher is paid according to their labour.

Education, generally, is worthless and cannot be valued. However, these salaries are a way to appreciate the effort of teachers for their input on students. Hence, it should not be based on performance but on merit.