Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the arguer declares that the Plainsvilles schoolchildren will tend to join their program called Fitness for Life, which bloster regular exercise at an early age. To justify the anticipation, the arguer points out an example involving the sales of running shoes, exercise equipment and the popularity of the local health club. With a series of unwarranted and poor evidences and holes, however, the argument fails to be convincing as it stands.

First of all, it is unreasonable that the arguer suppose that the sales of exercise equipment equal to the popularity of excercise among the citizens living in Plainsville. More people prefer to running or jogging, which contributes to increasing sales on running shoes. However, we cannot assert that such phenomenon was caused because many people love running. In reality, if store in this area only sale running shoes without other types of shoes, the people are accustomed to wear running shoes rather than other types. Therefore, if the arguer should provide more credible data about the sales of running shoes among all types of shoes, the proposed argument would be significantly strengthened.

Furthermore, it is unfair to assume that many people in Plainsville will tend to join the exercise in the future, since the local health club almost closed during five years. On the contrary, the business status of the local health club infer that only few people prefer to regular sport in this area. If the arguer ignore the above facts, the negative effects will influence the profit of his stores.

Additionally, even if the aforementioned assumptions are accepted, the arugment merely relies on the assumption that the need of the children exercise cannot be supported by convincing and plausible evidence. In fact, we cannot obtain the relationship between the participation of adults and adolescents now. Thereby, hastily carrying out such recommendation of openning new store in Plainsville would lead to unprodicted negative effects.

Overall, the arger should provide more incredible information about the data from the local exercise among different people.