Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In this claim, the author declares that the students should work together to finish a great amount of project rather than following traditional leture-based courses in the universities. With the consideration of enhancing the collaborating among peers, the proposal may seem logical at frist glance. I believe, however, the group study and lecture-based course are not contradicted at all. Therefore, I tend to disagree the suggestion of the author in consideration of the following reasons.

Firstly, it is universally acknowledged that each student should participate in the group discussion and associated activities, which do good to their social ability and team work. While it is reliable for college to emphasize the power of group assignments in the school, since the students would find more easier to adopt their work environment in the future. Otherwise, students may become confused and at a loss without the improving the related abilities.

Secondly, though the group activities are significant for students' future, the importance of lecture-based instruction under the experienced teachers and tutors cannot be overemphasized. In reality, sophisticated teachers or professors have enough teaching experience to impart their students. With the assistance of those senior teachers, the young generation would avoid many troubles in terms of their study direction and life goals. If students ignore the guidence from college and university courses, it is quite challenging to learn the latest knowledge in the associated research areas efficiently. For example, some students prefer doing research in the communication engineering by relying on hardware platforms. Nevertheless, such platforms are designed by the senior professors or engineers. If students only rely on their group discussion and collaboration, the unexpected mistakes would pose a threat to the experiments.

Additionally, I believe that the group assignments and lecture-based guidence should be combined. If we can take the advantages of both schemes for our teaching tasks, the students would finally cultivate the ability of collaboration and team work and get rid of the peplexing obstacles at the same time. It is suggested that the teachers can assign some group projects after their lectures.

Overall, I consider that the lecture-based teaching part cannot be simply replaced by group assignments. The students can learn their knowledge and life value from the senior professors in the universities, which reduce the risk of falling into unknown troubles and facilitate the achievement of their own life goals.