Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The view that student must work together as peers to achieve a common goal is really a connective phase for growth to happen. Students in both colleges and universities are introduced to various types of learning (which can be direct or indirect) that enables them to gain skills and knowledge in their field of study.

Direct teaching in this argument is also referred as traditional-based instruction as it involves a teacher-student learning experience through the use of projectors, scheme of work, learning materials etc. to pass on information and skills to students, whereas the indirect teaching requires a collaborative experience where students cooperate in groups to rub minds by creating ideas that fits the topic of interest given. An example of direct learning or traditional-based instruction is a teacher in front of a classroom passing on knowledge and that of indirect learning is a classroom presentation of various groups of students given a particular topic to discuss on.

As many have been given the opportunity to gain knowledge in various ways and techniques, the idea behind lecturers ensuring student to collaborate with one another is for them to identify problems from various points of view, helping them to critically think and analyze a problem by proffering solutions as it encourages teamwork and supports unity among members of a particular group. For instance, master's students were given a research assignment topic on assessment of plant species diversity in a local community. The students were able to come up with an idea that a Shannon-wiener diversity index is an ideal technique for assessing the abundance and richness of the plant species which serves as a means of conservation for plant species.

Group reading is part of a collaborative work as it helps to broaden many students' horizon by improving their IQs and giving them the opportunity to multi-task beyond their capability. However, many lecturers find it difficult to give collaborative assignments due to the fact that some student hardly indulge themselves in activities that would help them improve in areas that are difficult for them to assimilate. Hence this can create a form of laziness resulting to a lower IQ in the field of study.

There are more to collaborative learning and teamwork than replacing a substantial traditional lecture-based instruction as I am convinced that this has served as a medium to improve growth by encouraging individuals to become an expertise in their field helping them achieve a common goal of similar interest.