Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the arguer declares that the Omega University should stop the student evaluation of professors. To justify the associated suggestion, the arguer points out an example involving the fact that the students' grade averages at Omega has increased, but the graduates have not been as good at finding jobs as those students from Alpha University. Although this suggestion may seem logical at first glance, with a series of unwarranted and poor assumptions and holes, the argument fails to be convincing as it stands.

Firstly, it is unreliable to assert that the failure of getting better jobs should be blamed on the student evaluation, though it is entirely feasible. The authors ignore the testimony of the employment information for both of two universities until the deployment of the student evaluation. For example, it is likely that the Alpha University was superior to Omega in terms of finding jobs in the long range of history. Therefore, if the arguer can provide the convincing evidence about the employment rate of different universities, the arguer's argument would be significantly strengthened.

Furthermore, it is unreasonable to unfairly assume without substantiation that the higher grade averages pose a threat to the student achievement. In fact, the students would find it easy to learn more job-related knowledge after completeing their course work, since the information from senior teachers are always outdated and may not suitable for the latest requirement of companies. An appropriated example cannot be far away: many students learn C language (a type of computer programming language) in their lecture-based course, while the famous companies, such as Google and Microsoft, always require the candidates should master the latest languages, such as Python, Go and Java, etc. Thereby, the arguer should supply more details about the relationship between the higher grades and the failure of getting jobs. Otherwise, nobody is willing to accept such immature suggestion.

Additionally, even if the aforementioned assumptions on which the conclusion is based on are receivable, the assumption merely relies on the fact that the professors tend to give higher grades for all students under the constraint of student evaluation, and we are not informed any professional and plausible information. In reality, it is possible that the student evaluation push professors to improve the quality of their teaching ability, and therefore the students are able to get higher grade. If the arguer can provide more convincing infomation to prove that the professional abilities of all students were ruined, the proposed argument would be more acceptable.

Overall, the unpersuasive argument cannot be receivable at this version without convincing information. Otherwise, hastily carrying out such suggestion would pose a threat to the improvement of professors' teaching ability.