People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Throughout our lives, we make number of decisions and take actions based on those decisions. Generally, these actions can have either positive or negative effects, on us and/or our surroundings. The given recommendation suggests us to be cautious about those negative consequences we may face, but may not take the benefits into account. I mostly disagree with the given recommendation due to following reasons.

Just as Newton’s third law dictates, every force has an equal and opposite reaction. We can apply the same rule to risk taking and its actions. While being wary of actions may keep you at a safer side, it also means there is little to gain. On the other hand, if your action has a significant amount of risk associated with it, the reward is of the same magnitude. Take for example, the sport of rope balancing. People make world records by balancing on a thin rope tied across two mountains and it wouldn’t be possible if they don’t take the risk of facing death.

Some opportunities can be so evanescent that we have to take action before its late to grab it. At such situations, we may waste some time in thinking about the consequences and ironically, risk to miss the opportunity.