The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore a chain of movie rental stores quot Because of declining profits we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore 039 s ten movie rental stores Raising prices is not a good opti

One assumption the argument is based upon is, early closing on all of their stores would decrease their expenses. Another assumption is that most of their customers do not rent movies that were released more than five years ago. Thus, they recommend for early closing and removing all of the older movies for all the stores. The given argument needs to answer the following questions to decide if the recommendation will have expected result, upon which failing to answer would seriously weaken the argument.

First of all, the argument’s first reason for which they mentioned to have observed reduced operations cost is where they mention early closing time for one of their stores. Even though it may have reduced their operating expenses, the argument needs to answer if these reductions in expenses have increased their profits. Have they considered how many customers and subsequently, how many potential rentals would they lose due to early closing? If most of their customers were to visit after 6 P.M., they might be losing significant number of their income from it. Considering that many of their customers would be at work or doing jobs till 6, evening seems to be a convenient time for them to visit. Failing to consider such a situation would result in decline in income, even though they may be cutting out on their operational expenses.

Secondly, for their reduction in stock for movies older than 5 years, they need to answer if they conducted any statistical analysis to know what movies their customers generally rent. People in general watch new movie releases in theatres and nowadays, on streaming platforms. It is possible that most of their customers rent older movies from the stores because it could be difficult to watch them otherwise. Also, many movie enthusiasts may watch older movies frequently. Although eliminating older movie stocks may reduce their expenses, they may be depriving themselves from an obvious profit. If it turns out that most of their customers rent older movies, their assumption does not hold much water and the suggestion of early closing may even further decline the profit margin.

Another question the store needs to answer is, how significant is the decrease in their operational expenses? For their profit margin to revert back to what it was, the operational expenses need to be significant enough. If they are not saving a good amount by early closing, their store might as well run profitable.

If the store fails to address the given questions with enough plausibility, they seriously weaken their argument and should come up with another strategy to reduce their expenses, or to increase their profits.