Commuters complain that increased rush hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time The favored proposal of the motorists lobby is to widen the highway adding an additional lane of traffic But last

The recommendation of adding a bicycle lane instead of a motorist’s lane is based on the assumption that the most of the commuters of Blue Highway will choose to use bicycle, which will help in reducing the rush-hour traffic. Also, the argument of expecting increased traffic on Blue Highway due to availability of bicycle lane needs to be explained furthermore. Both the recommendation and the argument can be weakened if they fail to provide substantial answers to the following questions.

First of all, one question that argument needs to answer is, how many commuters taking the Blue Highway are from nearby area? The opponents claim that area residents being keen cyclist will choose the bicycle lane and therefore would result in decreased rush-hour traffic. But what about the commuters from other areas? If the number of usual commuters on Blue Highway are from distant areas, they would still choose a vehicle and this may not result in significant decrease in traffic on the road. Furthermore, the argument doesn’t state the time of increased traffic on Green Highway. If the addition of new lane has caused increased traffic jams on it, are these jams in rush-hour timings? The commuters are specifically complaining about the rush-hour traffic and if the traffic jams do not reflect the traffic condition in rush-hour timings, the premise of opponents’ suggestion doesn’t hold water.

Furthermore, the argument doesn’t state the number of cyclists that already use cycles for their commute. If almost all of them already use bicycles, the traffic on the highway may not decrease at all. The opponents of the proposal need to inform the statistics of current bicyclists from the area and needs to survey the vehicle commuters of Blue Highway to understand their choice of using bicycles for commute.

If the opponents of the proposal fail to answer the above questions with plausibility, it seriously weakens their stand and a bicycle lane may not be the solution for the issue.