The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum from the owner of movies Galore, he stated that in order to diminish the loss we should adopt the same policies which have already been adopted by the store in Downtown Marston in all other movies Gallore stores. However, the argument is based on number of assumptions and we need further investigation to evaluate the soundness of the argument.

Firstly, the author says the profits are declining and their is the dire need to reduce the expenses of the stores. so, here question arises is decrease in profit is because of delapidated condition of stores? or is it because of the poor economy of the nation? Recession and unemployment might be one of the reasons of the declining of profits of the stores because if these two are the real reason behind the the loss than there will be no need for extra changes in these stores as it will take time but if the reason is the poor condition of stores than there is a dire need for renovation of stores which will automatically attract the people.

Secondly, he mentions that by reducing the operating hours he will cut loss as it has already seen in downtown Marston and they are following this schedule and getting advantage and he wants to adopt the same policy in another stores at different places. Here he overlooked this point that people of different places have different lifestyles, different job and sleep patterns. Perhaps 6:00 to 9:00 timings in the evening will be suitable for people of other place and they want to spend their leisure time by watching movies. So there is a need for asking people's opinion of different places about their job patterns which will help him in increasing his profits of stores in different areas.

Moreover, he states that store in downtown Marston has cut it overall inventory by removing the stocks of DVDs which are older than 5 years and it has helped them in decreasing their profits. He wants to do the same in every store. Again this point is based on the assumption that people of every area have same likes and dislikes as we discussed above and it will result negatively if they apply the same policy in each store. May be downtown Marston area consist of more number of youngster consumers than old age who like only trending movies not old ones.

In conclusion, author needs to present more evidence to support the assumptions that have been made in the argument to convince us that all stores should adopt the same policies which have already been adopted by the store in downtown Marston and minimise the loss. In its present form, the argument is not very strong.