The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good opti

The owner of Movies Galore, recommends increasing the profits of his video rental store chain by implementing two changes that were previously tried at one of it sexisting locations. He came to this conclusion because closing the store early and reducing its movie count reduced operating costs at its downtown Marston store. However, to really evaluate the strength of this argument, we need to answer three questions.

First of all, are the other stores located in similar locations as the downtown Marston location, where closing early helps reduce the costs? Maybe the other stores are located in more suburban settings, where you can expect more people to visit them on their way from work, which usually ends at 5-6pm. The downtown location is expected to have less people frequenting it after business hours as people head home, but the opposite thing can be said for the suburban stores, which expect more flux as people head home and stop at the movie store on the way home. If this the case, then this greatly weakens the owner's argument.

Secondly, is last month a typical month for the downtown Marston store's operating expenses? In other words, would you expect every month's operating expenses to be similar to last month's? It may be the case that last month was an unusually hot and humid August, for a city that experiences very moderate weather. This could have considerably increased the cost of the AC and electricity needed to keep the inside ambient at a tolerable level. Now that it is September and the temperature subsided, we could finally see a decrease in those operating costs. If this is true, then the argument is, again, flawed.

Thirdly, did the store lose revenue and customers as a result of eliminating all the movies that are 5 years or older? Some classics, such as "Star Wars", "Lord of the Rings", or the "Harry Potter", hold a considerable loyal fan base that will continue to shop for those movies, no matter the year it is. Getting rid of these fan favorites may backfire, as their bottom line will suffer and they will lose even more revenue. If this is also true, then it significantly weakens the author's argument.

To conclude, the author's argument depends on two highly flawed arguments that even if they hold weight, they are not certain to work in the other store locations. If the author is able to answer the three questions delineated above, it will help evaluating the feasibility of this solution. Knowing more about the nature of the operating expense, the stores locations, and its customer base's preference, will help the author make a better informed decision.