The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

While I do believe that competition has continually pushed the human race to better itself, cooperation provides significant advantages to advance our societies. I mostly agree with the prompt for two reasons.

Of course, a healthy dose of competition will more often than not foster improvement. Unfortunately, young people today face significantly more different problems than our primal ancestors who were constantly fighting for food, shelter, and protection against nature. We have eliminated our most basic issues and there is an abundance of each of those resources for all humans. We need not compete for what once were limited resources and we now can focus on eradicating disease, the environment, and technological advancement. These issues are of considerable difference to what we once faced as early as the 20th century. Thus, by cooperating with each other we can significantly cut the time needed to achieve the betterment of our societies.

First, the main issues faced by the young people of the world today have become bigger and more complex and require all the resources that can be mustered. For instance, global warming is a problem that will lead to an imminent disaster unless all humans cooperate and contribute to solving it. There is no room for competition there, and uniting towards this common goal is the only way to achieve the survival of our planet. Similarly, eradicating disease and preventing a global epidemic are serious concerns for our species. Dividing the resources and competing with each other, will have a detrimental effect on the fate of all humans. Therefore, due to the nature and complexity of the world today and in the future cooperation is the only solution.

To conclude, as times have changed our main problems have shifted from fighting to secure our individual survival to securing the prosperity of our whole species. Therefore as a community, we should be all thinking to better our whole society's lives, and our own with it, by working together and fighting united.