The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As author assumes that the demand of electricity will not increase in his area in future and it may decline slightly. he also states that three electric generating plants in operation for the last 20 years have always met their needs

and there will be no need of new generating plant. this argument is flawed for numerous reasons and it is based on unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, author mentioned that according to a survey people are replacing their home appliances with almost twice energy-efficient appliances to conserve energy. this survey is dubious and arises many question like technology is evolving every second and scientists are able to discover more energy-efficient appliances with every passing day . are mediocre families able to replace their old appliances with the new ones? do they afford the prices of appliances by changing their old ones

with new ones? is money not a big issue for them ? it is obvious that the prices of more efficient devices are higher than the less efficient ones.

Secondly, another assumption on which his conclusion is based is expanding population. he said that in near future the there will be no need of extra generating plant. Here the question arises that is the population of that area will stay static in future? will it not grow with passing time? The expanding population is the major issue of world, ofltae.

Thirdly, he did not consider the industrial growth. is industrial expansion not necessary for the economy of the nation? why he did not consider industrial growth? industries play a significant role in the growy=th of the nation.

Furthermore, he assumed people will accommodate the new technologies for heating their homes like home insulation and solar heating. again this is based of many false assumption like people belonging to middle class are able to adopt and afford these technologies and again this assumption will give rise to many question like are all people of that area are opulent and spendthrift? do all of them will

be able to splurge a big amount of their income only for the cause of conserving energy? Those who do not have enough money to support their family , do these kind of people will spend money for this cause or they will like feed their families? and many questions arises.

Because the argument takes several unwarranted assumptions , it fails to make a convincing case that in future there will be no need of a new electricty generating plant.