There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better

health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities.

Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by

individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton.

Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in

Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the

average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton

residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives

should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above memo, the author argues that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities. The author bolsters his argument based on the report that the number of sick leaves in a small town Leeville is far higher than the number of sick leaves in the nearby large city Masonton though the proportion of physicians to residents is greater in the large city. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that according to a business report people in a small place took fewer sick leaves than people in a nearby large city without providing any necessitate evidence regarding the authenticity of the business report. There is a possibility that people in that survey are not veracious about their responses. Maybe people in the large city take more sick leaves as an excuse of skipping office than the people in the large city. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument holds no water. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart of each of the offices in both small and large cities then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author strengthens his argument based on the ratio of the number of physicians to residents without any admissible evidence. Maybe people in the small town prefer to visit physicians in the large town when come to some serious diseases. Furthermore, maybe most of the people in the small town do not visit the physician when they have minor diseases, on the other hand, people in the Large town visit their physician on regular basis for routine checkups. The author does not provide any evidence regarding the residents of both places. In that case, the author’s method of using circumstances from one thing to generalize and predict the others is seriously unwarranted. The author has to provide more concrete evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study about the residents of both places to rectify his claim.

Thirdly, the author argues that the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents without providing the total number of people in both places. An average is a tricky number it depends on the total number of residents. Comparing the lifestyle based on only the average life expectancy is counterfeit to a certain extent. Perhaps the average age of Leeville town is 60 where the total number of peoples are only 10000. On the other hand, the average age of Masonton residents is 50 while the total number of residents is 500000. Then one can not argues that Leeville residents live a healthier lifestyle based on the only average. If the author is able to provide more legitimate evidence perhaps in the form of a frequency distribution of different age groups of both places then it will strengthen the author’s argument otherwise the author’s argument is built unreliably.

In the conclusion, as the author’s argument stands now is seriously unwarranted due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to elucidate the three assumptions above ad offer more evidence (perhaps in a form of a systematic research study) then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that switching living patterns from a hectic place to a relaxed place, people can live longer and healthier lives.