There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and

greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly

account for the facts presented in the argument

The author provides many pieces of evidences to support his claim that relaxed pace of life promotes better health and greater longevity and I don’t contend to the claims as bolstered by the author, but certainly I would like to question the authenticity of the reasons provided to reinforce the conclusion. The author states that fewer sick leaves were taken by the residents of Leeville , a small town than the sick leaves taken by the people of Masonton, a large city but the data seems to be apocryphal. We might question whether the study was large enough to draw broader conclusions? The population of Leeville would be less as compared to the population of Masonton. So if it is said that the sick leaves taken by residents of Leeville are less than those of Masonton and this shows that this shows better health, then the conclusion is flawed because no way the population of these two cities are comparable.

The another reason provided by the author to support his conclusion is that the Leeville has only one physician over 1000 residents but Masonton has 5 times higher but again the reason seems to be flawed as if the population of Leeville is less which is most probable as it is a small town than there will be less physicians due to the low population and government would be reluctant to appoint more physicians unnecessary unless required. So the argument that bolsters the conclusion is inaccurate as other aspects such as demographics are not specified at all. Population of the cities is germane to this argument.

The third reason that is provided by the author that average life of people of Leeville is higher than those of Masonton, but the base value for computation of average life is not same as the population of both the places differs a lot.so the three reasons that were provided to support this conclusion are seems to be completely flawed and the conclusion seems to be apocryphal.

Furthermore, many other factors such as Demographics, Lifestyle, eating habits, death rate, hospitalisation rates and other causes are not considered by the author while reaching at the conclusion. If eating habits of the people of larger city are better then those of Leville then they may live a longer life than those of Leville. The Lifestyle also influences your better health it may be possible that the lifestyle of the people of small town is not good , it is possible that people of that town are addicted to drugs and intoxicants and people of Masonton lives a good lifestyle, they might invest some of their time in gymnasium doing exercises. The Death rate is not taken into account while reaching at any conclusion, it is possible that the death rate of Leville is higher or may be the hospitalisation rates are higher than those of big city. If all these factors were taken into account, then there lies a possibility that the conclusion might be something else. Moreover, the big question is whether the factors covered represents the whole population?

While this argument presents an interesting hypothesis , the data presented is not strong enough to establish the validity of the conclusion ever to a smaller degree.so this argument seems to be completely flawed and the data is inaccurate and incomplete. The argument raises a question whether the pursuit of this hypothesis was good utilisation of time, funds and attention.