101 There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individu

The author concludes that relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows its residents to live longer and healthier lives. This conclusion is supported by the evidence about the hectic life and comparatively higher sickness among citizen's in the nearby large city of Masonton as well as the presence of less physician in Leeville than larger town of Masonton. While the author's justification might ultimately prove valid, three alternative explanation must also be considered that might account for the observations in the prompt.

First of all, the author presumes that people in small town of Leeville are not sick based on their leaves taken. Perhaps Leeville being a small town there is no as much work load hence people consider coming to work instead of taking sick leaves. It is possible that people working in Leeville are frequently sick and are simply habitual of not reporting about their sickness and coming to work. If the above case is true then the conclusion that relaxed paced life allows better and healthier life does not hold water.

Second of all, the higher presence of physician’s in Masonton can be due to other reasons. Maybe Masonton is infamously known for its health care facilities because of which many older and sick people tend to reside in Masonton which accounts for its major population. Furthermore, Leeville having one physician for its one thousand residents is because residents in Leeville perhaps prefer to take healthcare facilities from bigger towns like Masonton where the health care service is efficient and cost-effective than the one they are getting in Leeville. If the above scenario holds merit it significantly weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.

Lastly, the average age of Leeville residents does not clearly indicate, that calm and relaxed pace lifestyle is the reason for their longer and healthier lives. The higher average age can be due to several other factors. Perhaps that many of the residents of Leeville were Marines and hence were living a very physically active lifestyle and their longer age has nothing to do with the calmness of the town of Leeville. If anyone of the above cases is true, the argument is not overly persuasive.

In conclusion, while the author may not be evaluating the given situation regarding longer lives of people of Leeville in its entirety, the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons have not listed here the argument as it stands, cannot be said holistically. More evidence is needed to make the given argument stronger.