101.There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author points out that people who want to live longer and healthier lives should think about immigrating to a small city. To support this conclusion, they use a series of evidence to prove that people living in the small city would live longer, for instance, in Leeville there are fewer sick people than the nearby large city. Moreover, people unlikely to find many physicians in Leeville. Lastly, we are informed that the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Mansonton residents. While it is convincing to claim that we should live in a smaller city if we seek longer and healthier lives at first glance, close scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks critical support, there are a number of unsubstantiated assumptions, which if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author’s conclusion.

First of all, we need to consider the reason why residents in Leevile get fewer sick than residents in Masonton. the author's unsubstantiated assumption is that residents in Leeville get healthier because of the small city where they live. If new evidence or study shows that residents in Leeville get fewer sick stem from good exercise ritual or balanced diet, then the conclusion in argument will be weakened. However, if new evidence discloses an opposite situation, therefore the conclusion is lent support to.

In addition, the author asserts that the proportion of physicians to residents in Mansonton is as five times as residents in Leeville. The author would like to claim that residents in Leeville live healthier and do not need more physicians. The assumption is potentially problematic because we are not informed about the level of health state. Nor do we know whether the number of the physician can account for healthy state of the residents in Leeville. If it turns out that the number of physicians have insufficient correlate with healthy state of residents in Leevile. Then the author’s recommendation is unconvincing.

Moreover, the author points out that the average age of Leeville people is higher than Masonton people. we have no idea why the average age of Leeville people could more than that of Masonton people, even more we do not know the time period. if we find that the data is fake, then the conclusion is in great doubt because the validity of study is unfounded. if we find that the time period just one year and we calculate the average of age, so we are unconvinced of the conclusion because it is likely that amount of older people just moving to Leevile and living here last year.

Granted that there are fewer sick days, physician and get higher average age in small city Leeville, we also need to consider other factors could account for this phenomenon presented in the argument. For example, a regular exercise habit, relaxing working environment also lead live longer than other, if it turns out that residents of Leeville is thus equipped, then we are inclined to believe that argument behind the better health and greater longevity lie factors other than the size of city.

To sum up, while the conclusion of author is convincing at first glance, there are a large number of unsubstantiated assumptions which is proven unwarranted, just become wishful thinking, we could decide validity of the conclusion whether convincing or not until we examine it carefully.