The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the author recommends that XYZ company should still choose Delany Personal Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating resumes and developing interviewing skill instead of Walsh Personnel Firm. To support his/her conclusion, the author points out that Laid-off employees have benefited from Delany's services. Moreover, the author presents that it would be a mistake to replace Delany's services with Walsh's services. it is convincing to claim that Delany's services are better than Walsh's services at first glance, there are some unstated assumptions, which if proved to be unwarranted, could be seriously challenged.

To start off, we are informed that people who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than people who did not use this service, then the author concludes that we should choose Delany's services rather than Walsh's services for laid-off employees. the author apparently assumed that the speed rate of finding job plays a paramount role in choosing services, but we do not know the current condition of people finding a job through Delany's service. It is of equal possibility that these laid-off employees are eager to find a job then they take an effort to show themselves and does not relate to Delany’s service, then we are inclined to believe that people who are laid off always make own decisions without the Delany’s help, so the recommendation in the argument is unconvincing.

Moreover, the author presents that only a half of worker we laid off that time find a job within a year using Walsh’s service before eight years. the author irrational assume that Walsh's service to find job always need more time than Delany's service, then further presents that it is a mistake to choose Walsh's services. Walsh's services might more slow than Delany's services before eight years ago, but at present, we do not know what is the current state of Delany's services. if Delany company have a deep revolution since we found they may be not better than other company before eight years ago. then we are unconvinced of the recommendation in this argument.

In addition, the author claims that Delany is apparently better than Walsh because of bigger staff and a large number of branch offices of Delany. then what assumption underlies this claim is that a greater company must have bigger staff and amounts of branch offices. But if it turns out to be a smaller company more effective than the abovementioned company, then the author’s assumption is seriously challenged and the recommendation is rendered unconvincing.

To sum up, while Delany’s service is better than Walsh’s at first glance, we need more information to help evaluate aforementioned assumptions. Either of these assumptions proves unconvincing, then we are inclined to believe that the recommendation in the argument is unwarranted