The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company. "When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the author asserts that XYZ company should not contract with the Walsh company instead of Delany Personnel Firm in many respects. Although this argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of the evidence regarding the effectiveness of both personnel companies leads me to doubt the credibility of the arguement.

To begin with, the author need to provide solid evidence on the capability of the Delany Personnel Firm. He states that the last year’s result to support his assertion. However, it is entirely possible that the laid-off employees who were assisted by Delany got a job relatively quickly due to their willingness to get a job hastily. In other words, those who wanted to get a job used the Delany’s program, while others just wanted a break time in their life for one year, so they did not seek the job. Also, the bigger size of Delany cannot be equivalent to the higher ability. Even though the Walsh might have a small number of staffs, the staffs are top-notch consultants that could help laid-off employees significantly.

Second, the author must supplement the argument with the concrete evidence on the Walsh Personnel Frim. He mentions the bad results that occured in eight years ago. Rather, he needs to consider the inherent conditions of that year because at that time the country had a severe economic crisis. In this case, the Walsh’s result eight years ago prove to be incredible considering the adverse situation at that time. Furthermore, there is a high chance that Walsh made it possible for laid-off employees to get a sought-after job while Delany focused on a plain job for laid-off employees. If this is the case, the three months is negligible.

Lastly, the author should provide the specific evidence on the soundness of the conclusion that the company use Delany. As mentioned in the memo, the cost of the Delany is high relative to the Walsh. Even if the Delany’s service is better than Walsh, if the cost difference is huge enough to override the quality of service, the author’s conclusion is not sound.

To put it brifely, the author’s arguement is invalid in many ways. To bolster the argument, he should thoroughly scrutinize the effectiveness and cost of both Delany and Walsh.