18. The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager contends that the television station should expand their news coverage on weather and local news to allure more viewers and to avoid the decrease in the advertising revenues. Even though this argument seems convincing at first, the unwarranted assumptions on which the argument is based lead me to doubt the credibility of it.

First of all, the manager adamantly assumes that the current news format have had a detrimental effect on the late-night news program’s. He uses the complaints the station received from viewers to support his assumption. However, it is highly likely that the complaints are not significantly much enough to indicate the opinion of the public. The number of complaints could be small relative to the all the watchers of the late-night news. In this case, seemingly high proportion of complaints that deals with the current news style would not be a serious problem. Also, the exact rate of viewership or amount of the advertisement revenues are not suggested. Without the exact statistics about the late-night news’ popularity, the author should not rashly assumes that the current way of news have had an adverse effect on the program.

Second, the author implicitly believes that the local businesses cancelled the advertisement contract because of the news’ focus on national news and it would damage the revenue of the station. However, there is no certain evidence to support his assumption. It is plausible that the local economy is in downturn, making hard for the local companies to invest money on advertisement. Furthermore, even if the author’s assumption is true, there is another likelihood that instead of local companies, the national-scale companies made a contract to advertise after the late-night news. In this case, the revenues from new clients could override those of local clients.

Finally, the author irrationally assumes that the change of the news’ focus would reap benefit to all the news programs of the station. However, there is a high probability that the change of the format could further aggravate the situation. The current viewers could opt for not viewing the changed news format, making the revenues of the station plummet. Also, the late-night news program should not be generalized as the all the news program because the characteristic could be different.

All in all, the memorandum is rife with groundless assumptions. Therefore, the manager should consider the aforementioned assumptions to bolster the argument.