391. The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

If one is asked to answer what is the driving force of the modern society, one would likely to say that the technological advancement led society to develop. Clearly, it is evident that through the industrial revolution and IT revolution people’s lives changed tremendously. However, it is debatable what should be a main purpose of techonlogical development. In my opinion, among many possible goals of techonological advancement, to make people’s lives convenient and develop the economy is two of the most important goals of it, not the increased leisure time.

It is admitted that, technology should enhance people’s efficiency to make more leisure time for them. By improving labor’s efficiency, a task previously exacted more than an ten hours could be finished in just a few hours. A washing mahcine is a paragon of this. Before the development of washing machine, usually women the labor required to wash the clothes were unthinkably burdensome and exacting work. They had to go to the river or well however harsh a whether is, fiand spend more than five hours to clean the clothes. However, with the advent of the washing machine, the process became much easier and faster, liberating women from tedious burden. Like this, technology should focus on increasing labor’s efficiency so that people have more free time, and it could increase the overall welfare of people.

However, there is more important goal of techonlogical advancement that should be noted. Technology must develop in a way that people could feel more convenient than before. This is mostly correlated with the utility and happiness of people. Take for instance a smart phone. Before the smart phone’s era, people usually used cell phone just for the purpose of calling to other people and people needed to access internet only through private computer. But the development of the smart phone changed people’s way of living. People nowadays could conveniently access the internet by just clicking the buttons of small smart phones and they can access the internet in every place if they just has a smart phone. The advent of smart phone made people’s life convenient and this aspect of technological development should be deemed an essential purpose.

Moreover, there are even more pivotal purpose of technological development, which is to make impossible possible. Technology has a potential to enable people to do what once deemed impossible and unthinkable. The best example is the development of an air-plane. In the early twentieth century, the notion of flying to the sky was deemed impossible. Against such a ubiquitous notion, wright brothers painstakingly investigated what could be essential in flying and they finally made first modern..