The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter, the author maintains that the decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park is happened most likely due to the introduce of trouts. He proves this point by stating the research results of 1975 and 2002, and the fact about the introduce of trouts in 1975. Although this argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to doubt the credibility of the argument.

To begin with, the author needs to provide more concrete evidence regarding the reseaches in 1975 and 2002 to fairly compare the different time periods. Although the results of each research are mentioned, the time spent on each research and who participated in the research are unclear. Therefore, it is possible that the research in 1975 was conducted for more than two months and research in 2002 spent two weeks to be done. If this is case, researchers in 2002 had little time to thoroughly investigate the national park and observed only small proportion of amphibians. Plus, even if the time spent on each research is almost smae, it is entirely possible that the researcher at 1975 was much more skilled than 2002. In either case, the actual number of amphibians could have been underestimated in 2002.

Moreover, the author must provide valid evidence about the conditions of air and water in national park to exclude them as a factor of decline. In the letter, it is stated that the conditions of air and water became hostile to amphibians globally. Nevertheless, the author dismisses them without mentioning the exact conditions of the national park. There is a high chance that the plants were made near the national park or residence buildings increased near the park. If this is the case, the air could have been in a bad condition and water pollution occured in the nation park, contributing to the decrease in amphibians critically. The author’s dismissal of air and water conditons rather rash and unreasonable without the evidence of real conditions of them.

Finally, the author should supplement the argument with the evidence on the population of trouts after 1975. It is entirely possible that the trouts find it hard to adjust to the national park because of predators and fishers. Before long, the trouts may have been in the state of almost extinction. If this is the case, the trouts could not be the main reason behind the fall of amphibians in the national park.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive on many grounds. To bolster the arugment, the author must meticulously investigate the researchs’ background and the conditions of the national park.