The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

In the recommendation, the author contends that the city should follow the precedent of city renewal program in a decling residential area to revitalize the city. The author mentions about the success of the precedent case and the opposite side of the city’s condition to prove his argument. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to doubt the credibility of the argument.

To begin with, the author needs to provide solid evidence on the causal relationship between the prior urban renewal program and the proposed consequences. He belives that the crime rates in the area decreased because of the program. However, it is entirely possible that other factors contributed to the decrease in the crime rates. To illustrate, the area may have suffered from the adverse economy situation ten years ago. As the ecomomy became better, the crimes related to the theft or fraud may have declined significantly. Also, it is plausible that the property tax revenues for the entire city increased not due the area’s development, but other parts of city’s development. In either case, the argument’s claim would be severly weakened.

Second, the author needs to supplement the argument with the evidence on the conditions of the opposite side of the city. There is high chance that the conditions of the prior plan’s target area could different from the opposite side of the city. In fact, the freeway could not exist in the opposite side of the city. In this case, the similar action will not have a positive influence on the region.

Lastly, the author should provide the concrete evidence on why some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied. If the reasons behind the current situation is something that could not be remedied by the city’s renewal plan, the supply of the alternate housing would take a toll on the city’s budget. In other words, if the people’s reason of not living in the area is not treated properly by the city’s plan, the alternate housing will fail due to the same reason.

To put it briefly, the author’s argument is unpersuavie. To bolster the argument, the author should consider the aforementioned evidence thoroughly.