The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A recommendation was passed describing an urban renewal plan which hopes to revitalize the city based off of a previous urban renewal that occurred in a different area. The author also states that alternative housing will help those who are displaced by the project. This is a major project with major assumptions made and a lot of evidence is needed to corroborate and justify this recommendation.

Firstly, it is important to find out if the two parts of the city are comperable to each other. Sure, the two parts of the city at some point in time were in urban decline, but the author is comparing the prospective part to another one that was 10 years old. It is important to find out if anything has changed in those past ten years that may make this plan not a feasivle one. For instance, it is possible that factory jobs have declined due to offshoring to China and India. This means that there will be fewer jobs since the city gambled on factory jobs rather than creating jobs in other sectors, meaning less income for those individuals leading to more crime and decreased tax revenue. As a matter of fact, the city would have wasted money building these factories since they would not be getting a return on their investment. Also, the higher crime rate would cost even more money for the increased amount of prisons and police officers.

In addition, the author assumes that the residants currently living in the prospective part of the city will actually move when they are told. The author correctly acknowledges the problem that residents currently living there must be considered. The author’s solution to rectify this problem is to move them to alternative housing. Evidence is needed to see if the residents would not fight back with a petition or a lawsuit that would prevent them from leaving and therefore no factories built for the said benefits. Also, it is important to see if the housing is cost-effective so that there is an appreciable return in investment when the factory is built and enough not to offer substandard housing which is important because the author would not want to appear hypocritical by offering worse housing when the residents are re-located since he or she wants a well developed city. Even if housing is substantial, it is important to consider if the residents are not located too far from their jobs and main source of income as well.

Finally, the author assumes that factories are able to be built in that area. It is possible that there is not enough space for many factories to be built at all or that factories in that area may not comply with EPA regulations due to pollution such as if the factories are too close to a river or a wildlife preserve. Speaking of pollution, it is very important to consider the environmental impact of putting even more factories in the city 10 years later. If the rate of creating pollution is faster than the rate of clearing it, it is not feasible to build more factories since it will affect the development of the city and even its economy since a good economy relies on a healthy environment.

In conclusion, the author of this piece makes many assumptions that requires a lot of evidence to be taken into account which may or may not lend this recommendation merit.