Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leaders of countries, corporations, etc. have many responsibilities and challenges that they must face all throughout their time as a leader. Among those challenges is whether or not leaders adhere to a set of principals and objectives, or compromise with the public. I say that leaders mostly should adhere to principals.

Firstly, abandoning principal for the sake of compromise for staying in power is unethical. For example, a politician may decide to make campaign promises about increasing scientific funding to cure all diseases that are demanded by most voters who may not understand that there are so many technical complications involved in this kind of promise. This kind of compromise could elect him again for another term in office. However, it is best for the politician to not lie, but to keep adhereing to his ethical principals to avoid wasting hundreds of millions of dollars on a plan that is not feasible, even if it costs him re-election.

In addition, the leaders must try to maintain the well-being people. Granted, it is almost impossible to keep 100% of the population well, the leader of say a company should not yield to pressures that will cost the well being of many for the better off of a few. To illustrate, suppose a high-rise Manhattan business meeting on the top floor of a huge corporate office has a meeting. During the meeting, the execuatives pressure the CEO into replacing workers with robots after a surge in wages to lower cost of paying employees and to increase their own wages. The CEO should stick to his principals and reject this proposition. Thus, with great power comes great responsibility, even if it is not mentioned in the CEO guidance manual. If the CEO approved this proposition, it would only increase the wages of these rich executives witch will sit in a bank untouched, while the workers will scatter to find another job. Therefore, since the low-wage workers’ well-being is at risk, leaders should stick to principal and not to opinions of others.

On the other hand, some leaders could be effective by compromise rather than specific objectives. For instance, a leader of a government proposes funding a space program that was promised as an objective a long time ago. However, all of the sudden, with elections soon to be around the corner, people have decided that they will not relect member of the government if they do not spend that money instead on schools with free lunches. The leaders should compromise with the public and instead go with the publics’ objective rather than their own. Since the public pays taxes, then it is fair that it should have a say in what the objectives should be.

All in all, most of the time leaders have ethical duties that tie them to principals, but at times objectives should be forsaken for compromise.